Regular Meeting Minutes

of the

The Palmetto Amateur Radio Club, Inc.

  July 25, 2014


Before The Meeting:

There was no Amateur Radio License Testing session before the meeting.
We ate breakfast and talked Amateur Radio.

Call to order:
After a nice round of greetings, the meeting was started at 9.10 AM
Meeting called to order by the President of The Palmetto Amateur Radio Club, Ed WD4HIP .

Old Business:   
Robert WE4B stated that he paid our Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations. Not-For Profit Annual Renewal for 2014 at the cost of $61.25.
New Business:
We talked about the club tower trailer and what was needed to do to get it ready to be sold. We made a date to go by, and do some maintenance on the trailer.

We then talked about the upgrade to the 146.850 club repeater. Robert WE4B the club trustee stated that he renewed the 443.825 repeater listing withe the Florida Repeater Council. That listing is now good for two additional years.
Presentation & Discussion:
We talked about the use of mobile antennas as a small base station HF antenna as our club member Lee W4EDE and Richard WD4FCJ have done.

End of Meeting:
The meeting was closed at 10.45 AM
73

John Kreider WA4YOG
Secretary of The Palmetto Amateur Radio Club, Inc.
July 26, 2014

If anyone has comments they would like to make please send them to:
questions at palmettoarc.org

Note to the Membership:
Remember to send in your Membership and Insurance Application
The form may be found on the main page of the website, or CLICK HERE to download.

ARRL
Southern Florida Section

September 9, 2014
Section Manager: Jeff Beals, WA4AW

Greetings to all,

Myra and I attended the ARRL Southeastern Division Convention in Huntsville, AL last month. They hosted one of the regional ARRL Centennial events; the last one in the east. Highlighted by the traveling ARRL Expo, a number of excellent forums and good attendance, the Huntsville Hamfest is becoming one of the larger shows on the hamfest / convention circuit.

I know that I’m beginning to sound like a broken record, however, we cannot lose our momentum with going forward with our support of HR 4969. If you have not already done so, please contact your Congressperson. Write a letter of support, forward it to ARRL by Sept. 12th for distribution and make an appointment to visit with them. Ask them to support HR 4969 and to co-sponsor the bill.  I cannot over emphasize how important it is for everyone to sign on with this effort.
For more info, please visit: http://bit.ly/1uueEhq

Congratulations to the members of the Boca Raton ARA upon earning the ARRL Special Service Club designation. Affiliated clubs can become an SSC by meeting certain requirements. For more info, contact our Affiliated Club Coordinator, Steve, N4SGL at n4sgl@arrl.net

We are looking for an individual to head up our Section Youth program. This is a SFL Section staff appointment who will work closely with the Section Manager and Affiliated Club Coordinator. For more info on the Section Youth Coordinator position, please visit http://www.arrl.org/section-youth-coordinator   If you are interested, just drop me an email or give me a call.

Mark your calendars for October 10-11th for the Florida State Convention at Melbourne. Held in conjunction with the 49th Melbourne Hamfest at the Melbourne Auditorium, this show has become a major event in the SFL Section. Meet with your Division Director/Vice Director and
the SFL Section staff at the ARRL booth. Our special guest from ARRL HQ will be Bob Allison, WB1GCM from the ARRL Lab. For more info, please visit:
http://www.arrl.org/hamfests/florida-state-convention-melbourne-hamfest-3

The annual Simulated Emergency Test will be held in the SFL Section on October 18th. For most ARES groups, the SET is a part of their ongoing training program. Details on the SET can be found on page 75 in the September QST. For more info on how you can participate in the SET,
contact your local EC or the DEC in your District. Please remember that we are now in the peak of the storm season. Fortunately, it has been quiet so far, however, it just takes one, so don’t become complacent. Be prepared for what might come our way.

Silent Keys
It is with deep regret that we report the passing of the following SFL members:
  • Wade J. "Jim" Bayless, W4BAL of Cocoa. Jim was active with Brevard County ARES and BEARS. Jim was also an ARRL Official Emergency Station.
  • Frank J. London, W1IVB of Delray Beach. Frank was an active member of the Boca Raton ARA and the Florida Atlantic University ARC and an ARRL Life Member.
Well, I guess that’s about it for now. My thanks for all that you do for Amateur Radio. Get on the air, Elmer a new ham, support your local club and ARES group but most of all, have fun.

73,

Jeff, WA4AW

ARRL Southern Florida Section Manager
Jeff Beals, WA4AW
wa4aw@arrl.org



ARRL
Southeastern Division
Doug Rehman, K4AC
ARRL Southeastern Division Director

May 20, 2014

Amateur Radio Station at the National Hurricane Center, Miami Florida WX4NHC will be On-The-Air for the Annual Station Test on Saturday, May 31st, 2014 from 9AM- 6 PM EDT ( 1300z -  2200z )

This will be our 34th year of public service at NHC.

The purpose of this event is to test Amateur Radio Station equipment, antennas and computers prior to this year’s Hurricane Season, which starts June 1st and runs through November 30th.

This event is  will be good practice for Ham Radio Operators world-wide as well as NWS Staff to become familiar with Amateur Radio communications available during times of severe weather.

WX4NHC will also be performing operator training.

We will be making  brief contacts on many frequencies and modes, exchanging signal reports and basic weather data exchange (“Sunny”, or “Rain”, etc.) with any station in any location.

WX4NHC will be On-The-Air on HF, VHF, UHF , 2 & 30 meter APRS and WinLink wx4nhc@winlink.org subject must contain “//WL2K”.

We will try to stay on the recognized Hurricane Watch Net frequency 14.325 MHz most of the time and announce when we QSY.

Due to space and equipment limitations, we will have 2 to 3 operators per shift, we can not be everywhere and every mode at the same time. You may be able to find us on HF by using one of the DX Spotting Networks, Such as the DX Summit Web Site: http://www.dxsummit.fi/Search.aspx

We will also be on VoIP Hurricane Net 4pm-6pm EST ( 2000z - 2200z )

Due to a server issue the EchoLink / IRLP Conference and Nodes have been changed for tomorrow’s WX4NHC Test Event.

The EchoLink conference will be *VKEMCOMM* EchoLink Conference Node: 270177
The IRLP conference will be IRLP Reflector: 9508.

http://www.voipwx.net/

Local South Florida area VHF & UHF Repeaters will be contacted.

QSL Cards are available via WD4R. Please send your card with a S.A.S.E.

Please do NOT send QSLs directly to the Hurricane Center address, as it will get delayed.

Due to security measures;

Please, NO VISITORS will be allowed entry to NHC without prior clearance from NHC PIO and Security.

Only WX4NHC Operators on the pre-approved operating schedule will be allowed entry.

For more information about WX4NHC, please visit our website www.wx4nhc.org

Thank you for your participation in the WX4NHC Annual Station Test event.
***********************************************

73

ARRL Southeastern Division
Director: Doug Rehman, K4AC
k4ac@arrl.org

http://www.southeastern.arrl.org


&

ARRL Southeastern Division
Vice Director:
Mike Lee, AA6ML
aa6ml@arrl.org

http://www.southeastern.arrl.org



Click to join Southeastern
                                    Division Facebook Page

THE ARRL
AMATEUR RADIO NEWS



W1AW
2014 Winter
Operating Schedule



SB QST @ ARL $ARLB001
ARLB001 W1AW 2014 Winter Operating Schedule

ZCZC AG01
QST de W1AW 
ARRL Bulletin 1  ARLB001
From ARRL Headquarters 
Newington CT  January 2, 2014
To all radio amateurs

SB QST ARL ARLB001
ARLB001 W1AW 2014 Winter Operating Schedule

Morning Schedule:

Time                                Mode     Days

1400 UTC (9 AM EST)   CWs      Wed, Fri
1400 UTC (9 AM EST)   CWf      Tue, Thu

Daily Visitor Operating Hours:

1500 UTC to 1700 UTC - (10 AM to 12 PM EST)
1800 UTC to 2045 UTC - (1 PM to 3:45 PM EST)

(Station closed 1700 to 1800 UTC (12 PM to 1 PM EST))

Afternoon/Evening Schedule:

Time                                   Mode         Days

2100 UTC (4 PM EST)      CWf      Mon, Wed, Fri
2100
UTC (4 PM EST)      CWs        Tue, Thu
2200 UTC (5 PM EST)      CWb          Daily
2300 UTC (6 PM EST)      DIGITAL    Daily
0000 UTC  (7 PM EST)     CWs     Mon, Wed, Fri
0000
UTC  (7 PM EST)     CWf         Tue, Thu
0100
UTC (8 PM EST)      CWb          Daily
0200
UTC (9 PM EST)      DIGITAL    Daily
0245
UTC (9:45 PM EST) VOICE       Daily
0300 UTC (10 PM EST)    CWf      Mon, Wed, Fri
0300
UTC (10 PM EST)    CWs         Tue, Thu
0400
UTC (11 PM EST)    CWb          Daily
 
 
Frequencies (MHz)
-----------------
CW:    1.8025 3.5815 7.0475 14.0475 18.0975 21.0675  28.0675 147.555
DIGITAL:  -   3.5975 7.095  14.095  18.1025 21.095   28.095  147.555
VOICE:  1.855 3.990  7.290  14.290  18.160  21.390   28.590  147.555
 
Notes:

CWs = Morse Code practice (slow) = 5, 7.5, 10, 13 and 15 WPM
CWf = Morse Code practice (fast) = 35, 30, 25, 20, 15, 13 and 10 WPM 
CWb = Morse Code Bulletins = 18 WPM

CW frequencies include code practices, Qualifying Runs and CW bulletins.

DIGITAL = BAUDOT (45.45 baud), BPSK31 and MFSK16 in a revolving schedule.

Code practice texts are from QST, and the source of each practice is given at the beginning of each practice and at the beginning of alternate speeds.

On Tuesdays and Fridays at 2330 UTC (6:30 PM EST), Keplerian Elements for active amateur satellites are sent on the regular digital frequencies.

A DX bulletin replaces or is added to the regular bulletins between 0100 UTC (8 PM EST) Thursdays and 0100 UTC (8 PM EST) Fridays.

Audio from W1AW's CW code practices, CW/digital bulletins and phone bulletin is available using EchoLink via the W1AW Conference Server named "W1AWBDCT."  The audio is sent in real-time and runs concurrently with W1AW's regular transmission schedule.

All users who connect to the conference server are muted.  Please note that any questions or comments about this server should not be sent via the "Text" window in EchoLink. Please direct any questions or comments to w1aw@arrl.org.

In a communications emergency, monitor W1AW for special bulletins as follows: Voice on the hour, Digital at 15 minutes past the hour, and CW on the half hour.
 
All licensed amateurs may operate the station from 1500 UTC to 1700 UTC (10 AM to 12 PM EST), and then from 1800 UTC to 2045 UTC (1 PM to 3:45 PM EST) Monday through Friday.  Be sure to bring your current FCC amateur radio license or a photocopy.

The W1AW Operating Schedule may also be found on page 42 in the January 2014 issue of QST or on the web at, http://www.arrl.org/w1aw-operating-schedule .
NNNN
/EX

® Copyright 2014 Palmetto Amateur Radio Club, Inc., All Rights Reserved.